In the sanctuary of Bom Jesus we were able to find three coretos in different locations:
– the first of these is located above the Ernest Korrodi cave. On May 23, 1912, an iron frame was erected for the execution of a bandstand, also known as an arbor, pavilion or belveder. This picturesque gazebo that crowns its building, is a sight to behold and an oxygenated place to which the lungs are grateful. This first bandstand has its frames made to imitate wood (as you can see in other frames throughout the park), has an octagonal shape and a rose of the winds dated January 2, 1914;
– the second one is located in front of the House of the Prints, in the Esplanade of the Temple, built in the late twenties. The confratern’s desk took advantage of the drawings and the descriptive memory that the architect Raul Lino had presented more than a dozen years ago. But asking for an opinion again Raul Lino advised the use of granite in the work instead of metal. Immediately, the confraternity sold the metal part of the bandstand to S. Bento da Porta Aberta, replacing it with a charming set of 8 beautiful granite colonnades in 1930-1932. These works were possible with the money raised by the deceased Bernardo Sequeira, where the respective plaque of honor is conserved. It was this bandstand that served as the stage for the annual feasts of the Holy Spirit, who used to drag the Braqueans to Bom Jesus mountain hill in a lively pilgrimage. These festivities were one of the main attractions of Bom Jesus, but they lost their breath until they disappeared from the calendar of popular festivals in Braga. Recently the confraternity of Bom Jesus resumed the old tradition;
– The third bandstand, simpler and octagonal, is located near the lake in a more sheltered place where nature and human work merge creating a perfect environment for reflection and rest. In its construction were used wood and metal painted red.